Kadence after the merger

Kadence Pricing in 2026: The New Plans, the Legacy-License Rule and the Real Cost

In May 2026 Kadence stopped selling add-ons and started selling tiers. If you bought before then, one missed renewal can cost you the old price and the old site limit at once. Here is the new price list, the rule that governs the old one, and what a Kadence site costs to run.

October 12, 2026 · 9 min read

The short answer

As of October 2026, Kadence sells three annual plans: Essentials at $99, Pro at $299 and Elite at $499, priced per site, with a 30-day refund. There is no lifetime option on the new plans. Legacy licenses keep their old price only while the subscription stays active; after a lapse you must buy a new plan.

On this page
  1. Three tiers from Liquid Web, and the number they leave out
  2. The legacy-license rule: keep paying or lose the old deal
  3. Refunds, renewals and what keeps working if you stop
  4. What Kadence gives away before the first invoice
  5. Two Kadence sites, priced out to year three
  6. How to pay Kadence less without losing anything
  7. Memberships, stores and security without a subscription stack

Three tiers from Liquid Web, and the number they leave out

Kadence is now sold on liquidweb.com, and kadencewp.com/pricing redirects there. The pricing page no longer lists separate add-ons and bundles. It lists three tiers, each annual, each a superset of the one below. The free theme and the free Kadence Blocks plugin still sit on wordpress.org, unchanged in price. Our Kadence review covers the product; this table covers the bill.

Kadence plans as of October 2026 (liquidweb.com/software/kadence, checked October 6, 2026)
PriceBillingSitesWhat the tier adds
Free theme and Kadence Blocks$0NoneUnlimitedCustomizer theme, header and footer builder, free blocks, starter templates, performance toggles
Essentials$99Per yearNot stated; "priced per site"Premium blocks and theme features, 200+ starter templates, form builder, child theme builder, mega menus, dynamic content
Pro$299Per yearNot statedShop Kit for WooCommerce, memberships and subscriptions, content restriction, firewall with 2FA and virtual patching, daily backups
Elite$499Per yearNot statedA/B testing, popups and sale banners, behavioral targeting, white label and client portal, Kadence Central, 1,000 emails a month

The missing number is sites. The pricing page footnote says plans are priced per site, and the Liquid Web announcement says volume discounts are available for 3 or more sites, but neither gives a site count or a discount rate. The terms FAQ still lists limits only for retired plan names. If you manage more than one site, get the count in writing from sales before you pay. Nothing on this page should be read as a promise of multi-site use.

The legacy-license rule: keep paying or lose the old deal

This is the part of Kadence pricing that costs people real money. Licenses bought before the May 2026 change are legacy plans. Liquid Web lets you keep them, with the same price, renewal process and features, but only while the subscription stays active. In its own words, "If your subscription lapses, you'll need to purchase one of the new software plans to reinstate access." There is no grace clause in that sentence.

Site limits follow the same logic, and they depend on when you bought. Licenses bought before February 1, 2025 allow unlimited websites, provided the subscription remains "active and uninterrupted". Licenses bought from that date under the old plan names carry fixed limits. Switch to a new plan and the new plan's limits apply instead.

Legacy Kadence licenses as of October 2026
Site limitWhat ends it
Bought before February 1, 2025Unlimited sitesAny lapse, or switching to a new plan
Express (from February 2025)Up to 3 sitesA lapse means buying a 2026 tier
Plus (from February 2025)Up to 10 sitesA lapse means buying a 2026 tier
Ultimate (from February 2025)Up to 25, upgradeable to 1,000A lapse means buying a 2026 tier
Lifetime UltimateUp to 25, upgradeable to 1,000No renewal to miss; keep the account details safe

The practical risk is boring: an expired card. A renewal that fails on a card that changed last spring is still a lapse. If you hold an unlimited-site legacy license, update the payment method today and check the renewal date in the new portal. If a key already shows as invalid, start with Kadence license not activating before you buy anything new.

Refunds, renewals and what keeps working if you stop

  • Refunds: up to 30 days after purchase, requested through a support ticket. That is double the 14 days Astra and Blocksy allow.
  • Renewal price: the general terms say fees will not change during your current term but may increase at renewal. Plan for that possibility rather than assuming year two matches year one.
  • If you do not renew: the plugins keep running, but you lose updates, premium support and premium templates. Without an active subscription you cannot activate products on a new site.
  • How long an unrenewed copy lasts: the vendor's own FAQ says it cannot guarantee how long a product will keep working without updates. For anything handling checkout or logins, treat a lapse as a deadline.
  • No lifetime on the new tiers: every 2026 plan is annual. Lifetime licenses exist only as legacy purchases.

Security fixes are the reason the last two points matter. Patchstack published a high-priority SQL-injection advisory for Shop Kit 3.0.6 and earlier. A store running an expired Pro license has no update path for a problem like that. If performance has slipped since a recent update, Kadence slow after update covers the usual causes.

What Kadence gives away before the first invoice

Kadence's free tier is generous, and it is fair to say so. The theme's Customizer has a visual header and footer builder with separate desktop and mobile headers. Its Performance panel can load Google Fonts locally, preload CSS and add microdata, all without paying. Kadence Blocks adds a page-building block set, and the free Starter Templates plugin imports finished sites. WooCommerce stores get single-product layouts, element toggles, a payment-icons row and a store notice in the Customizer.

Where free stops: hooked elements, conditional headers and mega menus sit in the paid theme kit; premium blocks and premium templates sit in Essentials; Shop Kit, memberships, security and backups sit in Pro. A blog or a brochure site can run on free Kadence for years. Our Kadence speed guide shows how far the free settings go, and Kadence and WooCommerce shows where a store starts to need Shop Kit.

Two Kadence sites, priced out to year three

The 2026 tiers change the usual math, because Pro folds in tools that other theme stacks buy separately. Here are two common builds. Plugin prices are included only where we checked the vendor's page today; the rest are named by category.

Licenses for a single Kadence site, as of October 2026
Brochure site, year oneBrochure, three yearsStore, year oneStore, three years
Kadence planEssentials $99$297Pro $299$897
FormsIncluded in Essentials$0Included$0
Backups and firewallSeparate plugin or host; not pricedRecurringIncluded in Pro$0
WooCommerce extensionsNot neededNot neededShop Kit included$0
Page caching (optional), WP Rocket Single$59.95$179.85$59.95$179.85
Verified subtotal$158.95$476.85$358.95$1,076.85
SEO plugin, hosting, domainCategory onlyRecurringCategory onlyRecurring

Pro costs $200 a year more than Essentials. That premium pays for itself only if you would otherwise buy a security plugin, a backup service and store extensions, such as galleries, swatches and a multi-step checkout, that together cost more than $200 a year. For a store, they often would. For a brochure site, Pro mostly buys tools you will not switch on. Elite at $499 makes sense for agencies that need white label and Kadence Central, and almost never for a single business.

How to pay Kadence less without losing anything

  1. 1.Protect a legacy license before anything else. Update the card, note the renewal date, and do not switch plans unless a new feature is worth the new site limit.
  2. 2.Run free until a missing feature costs you money. The free theme and blocks cover more than most brochure sites use.
  3. 3.Ask for the site count and the volume discount in writing. The pricing page promises neither a number nor a rate.
  4. 4.Count what Pro replaces before choosing it. List your current security, backup, membership and store plugins with their renewal prices, then compare against $200 a year.
  5. 5.Skip Elite unless you resell. A/B testing and popups are useful, but white label and Central are the reasons to pay $499.
  6. 6.Use the 30 days. Test the exact features you bought on a staging copy in the first week, so a refund is still possible.

Comparisons help here. Astra vs Kadence sets a 3-site addon against per-site tiers, Kadence vs GeneratePress sets them against a 500-site license, and Kadence vs Blocksy against lifetime pricing. For hands-on help with a Kadence build, our Kadence developer service works on staging first, and the Kadence repair hub handles what is already broken.

Memberships, stores and security without a subscription stack

Kadence Pro's pitch is consolidation: one vendor for the theme, the store tools, the members area, the firewall and the backups. That is a real improvement on five vendors. It is still a WordPress site with a license that must stay current for those parts to keep getting fixes, on a stack you update yourself.

A custom Next.js build with Athena CMS takes the same jobs out of the plugin layer. Athena includes built-in e-commerce and password-protected membership areas with login levels and Stripe subscription billing. Aegis checks daily for intrusions and backdoors, and Argus watches for failing forms, broken links and expiring certificates. There is no public admin panel to attack and no theme license to renew. The trade is a higher up-front cost and a developer for structural changes.

To see whether the numbers work for your site, read WordPress vs Next.js cost and what a move to Next.js costs. The Kadence-specific path, including what happens to Kadence Blocks content, is in Kadence to Next.js, and the row-by-row stack comparison is Kadence vs Next.js. Every theme we have priced is in the WordPress themes section.

Questions people ask before they call

As of October 2026, the Kadence Pro tier costs $299 a year and includes Shop Kit for WooCommerce, memberships and subscriptions, content restriction, a firewall with two-factor login and virtual patching, and daily backups. Essentials, the theme and blocks tier, costs $99 a year, and Elite costs $499. All three are annual, with no lifetime option.

It keeps working at its old price, with its old features, as long as the subscription stays active. If it lapses, you must buy one of the 2026 plans to get updates back. Licenses bought before February 1, 2025 allow unlimited sites while uninterrupted; switching to a new plan applies the new plan's limits.

The 2026 pricing page does not say. A footnote states that plans are priced per site, and Liquid Web mentions volume discounts for 3 or more sites, without figures. Older plans listed 3, 10 and 25 sites. Ask sales for the count in writing before buying for more than one site.

Yes. The Kadence terms FAQ offers refunds to any unsatisfied customer up to 30 days after purchase, requested through a support ticket. That is longer than the 14 days Astra and Blocksy offer. Use the window to test the features you paid for on a staging site.

Not for new buyers as of October 2026; every new plan is annual. Lifetime Ultimate licenses bought earlier are legacy plans with a limit of 25 sites, upgradeable to 1,000. If a lifetime key shows an unknown status in your dashboard, open a support ticket before reinstalling anything.

Free · No obligation

Check your Kadence license before it lapses

Tell us which Kadence plan you hold and what the site runs. We will tell you whether to stay put, which tier fits, and whether the stack is worth renewing at all.

Which of these sounds like you? (pick any)

Rather talk now? Call (210) 346-0848.

CallGet a quote